Changes to Ohio Adoption Law
Ohio has adopted significant changes to its adoption law. Birth fathers' period of time with which to register with the Ohio Putative Father Registry has been lowered from 30 days to 15 days. This means a birth father's consent for adoption is no longer needed if the father does not register within 15 days. The law also creates a pre-birth notice option that can be sent to father regarding possible adoption. There is also an increase in the Ohio Adoption Tax credit from $1500.00 to $10,000.00. The OSBA has more details on the changes to Ohio Adoption Law on its website.